Cellaring American Barleywine

Discussion in 'Cellaring / Aging Beer' started by estans2, Jan 17, 2017.

1. estans2

estans2 Initiate (0) Sep 29, 2016 Maryland

So I am fairly new to cellaring, I have about 30 beers as of now. I received a 4 pack of Uinta Anniversary ale and tried one fresh. It was delicious as is, fairly hoppy but not fully overpowering the dark chewy fruit from the malt. I was curious if I were to age the remaining 3, would they age well? How long would it be recommended to age? Do they take on the same characteristics as an aged English barley wine? Lastly, what other American Barley wines would you recommend for aging?

2. buckeye1275

buckeye1275 Zealot (501) Mar 21, 2013 Delaware
    Premium

I have aged Anniversary ale from Uinta before and would say it is better fresh. This is just my personal opinion. Lately, I have noticed that barleywines get very oxidized and I don't really enjoy that flavor (someone described it as wet cardboard once).

I would suggest you cellar them and taste one in about 6 months and then a year and see what how you like the flavors. It is a pretty easily obtainable beer so you can always find more if you like the what the cellaring does.

SFACRKnight likes this.
  3. buckeye1275

Premium

And other barleywines to cellar that are easily found are Bigfoot from SN, Old Stock Ale from North Coast, Horn Dog from Flying Dog and Old Foghorn from Anchor.

Bitterbill and estans2 like this.
  4. jmdrpi

jmdrpi Poo-Bah (5,110) Dec 11, 2008 Pennsylvania

it can be hit or miss. some beers' hop flavors age poorly, some don't.

There can also be an "awkward" phase when the hops are fading, but the malt flavors haven't "taken over" yet.

5. estans2

Thanks for the suggestions. I have Horn Dog as well. I had their Vertical at the brewery and that with 4 years on it is very tastey

6. needs_more_dog

needs_more_dog Initiate (0) Sep 13, 2016 Arizona