Developing a Palate for Malty Beers?

Discussion in 'Beer Talk' started by JesseMurdock, Jul 2, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. JesseMurdock

JesseMurdock Initiate (0) Apr 14, 2013 Hawaii

I am pretty new to the BA world, only been into craft beer for about 4-5 months, so I had a question that I was hoping some more experiences BAs could help me with. Before getting into craft, i thought IPAs and hoppier beers in general were awful. However, I quickly grew to appreciate them. I have grown to like a number of different beer styles, but I find that a lot of the sweeter, maltier beers do not agree with my palate, namely brown ales, scotch ales, doppelbocks, etc. While everyone talks about developing a palate for hoppier beers, does developing an appreciation for maltier beers also take time? Or are these styles probably styles I will rarely appreciate?

devlishdamsel likes this.
  2. TongoRad

TongoRad Poo-Bah (1,815) Jun 3, 2004 New Jersey
    Supporter Beer Trader

Don't try anything 'too high' gravity to start. When Oktoberfest time comes around maybe start with a few of those. Some great ones are Ayinger or Hacker-Pschorr, with a rich malt character and enough balance from the hops. Don't try American ones- they are generally too caramelly and cloying, and the balance is way off- they definitely won't ease you into appreciating malty beers.

Maybe also some Munich Dunkels, depending on what you can get in Hawaii (Ayinger, again, has a great one.).

3. sacrelicio

sacrelicio Initiate (0) Feb 15, 2005 Minnesota

I didn't like malty beers for a long time, I thought they were too sweet and syrupy. I'd start by trying things in small doses, like a sampler flight at a bar. That way you get the taste without being overwhelmed. I'd give the same advice to someone trying to get into hoppy beers, or sours, or any flavor that they aren't used to.

4. Roguer

Roguer Poo-Bah (2,586) Mar 25, 2013 Georgia
    Beer Trader