Does anyone feel like stepping back from IPAs sometimes?

Discussion in 'Beer Talk' started by cmiller4642, Jun 1, 2018.

1. cmiller4642

cmiller4642 Disciple (311) Aug 17, 2013 West Virginia
    Beer Trader

I've been noticing lately that I've only been drinking IPA's and ignoring every other style. I kind of need to "detox" from them a bit. Every single time I go to a bar, restaurant, or brewpub with new stuff on tap I just gravitate toward the IPA's.

alucard6679, orphan, SHDoyle and 17 others like this.
  2. NeroFiddled

NeroFiddled Poo-Bah (9,517) Jul 8, 2002 Pennsylvania
    Beer Trader

No, I step back from IPA all of the time. Sour beers, fruit beers, brown ale, pilsner, helles, stout...

I know what you're saying though.

3. Dan411

Dan411 Initiate (174) Mar 20, 2017 Missouri

So I have been drinking craft pretty exclusively for about 5 years now. After my palate adjusted to hops, that seemed to be all I wanted. Now, over the last year, that's changed, and I am learning to appreciate a balance of styles on my weekends. I have noticed, on a rare three night in a row session, that the IPA's just fall flat. Palate fatigue is a real thing for sure!

4. beertunes

beertunes Poo-Bah (5,157) Sep 24, 2007 Washington
    Beer Trader

I've always rotated between styles, as fits my mood. IPAs can get quite boring, quickly, as they're mostly so similar. Plus, it's just more interesting in general to change things up on the regular.

5. cavedave

cavedave Poo-Bah (2,455) Mar 12, 2009 New York
    Beer Trader

I know what you're saying, once you get a taste for well made IPA's it's hard not to want that hoppy goodness in your mouth. I have been there over the years for sure, I guess I have had LTS strongly five or six times.

Nowadays I try to enjoy as many different styles as I can. So many great ones out there. This strategy seems to make every style I try taste even better. This is doubly true for hoppy beers, the fewer you drink the more you enjoy those you do drink