Excess Foam after changing CO2 tank

Discussion in 'Home Bar' started by tjfilippo, Oct 30, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. tjfilippo

tjfilippo Initiate (182) Jan 28, 2008 Illinois
    Beer Trader

I have a relatively new kegerator and recently changed my first CO2 tank.

I have a 1/6th barrel and was getting perfect pours until my CO2 tank ran out. I refilled it and hooked the connections back up. I let everything sit for a few days. Now my entire beer is foam. I tried turning down the psi to 2 and there was no reduction in foam. Now I turned the CO2 tank completely off and I'm still getting an entire glass of foam. This doesn't make any sense to me. Did I do something completely wrong?

Sorry, I'm relatively new to using a kegerator. Thank you very much for your assistance.

2. mikehartigan

mikehartigan Aspirant (295) Apr 9, 2007 Illinois

When the old tank ran out, did you let the pressure in the keg drop or did you replace the tank before it reached that point? When you hooked up the new tank, what pressure did you set it to? For how long? Did you adjust the temperature? If you increased the pressure and/or decreased the temp for any length of time, you likely over carbonated the beer.

Assuming you had good pours before and that the temp is correct for the beer, my guess would be that the beer became overcarbonated while you were fiddling with it (it happens). Turning the pressure down or even turning the gas completely off will not fix that, as you've already observed. It'll take a few days for things to balance out.