Extract kit additions

Discussion in 'Homebrewing' started by mikefuski17, Oct 24, 2015.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. mikefuski17

mikefuski17 Initiate (0) Jul 25, 2013 Oregon

Still relatively new to brewing. I've only made to batches but am using extract kits until I fully understand the process and acquire more equipment. My next batch is Rebel Rye bourbon porter kit from the great folks at NorthernBrewer. I was curious if anyone has added extras ingredients to flavor with success. I was flirting with the idea of adding PB2. Since I'm a newb, I was also wondering how much to add for a 5 gallon batch and when to add for optimal flavoring. Thanks for any help fellow home brewers!

2. PapaGoose03

PapaGoose03 Grand Pooh-Bah (5,291) May 30, 2005 Michigan
    Pooh-Bah Society

3. mikefuski17

mikefuski17 Initiate (0) Jul 25, 2013 Oregon

Cool. Thanks for your help!!

4. jamesnw

jamesnw Initiate (0) Jan 8, 2009 Colorado

Some possible additions to a porter would be chocolate, hazelnut, cinnamon, bourbon and blackberry. Based on the bourbon, you could go with pecan, cherry, coffee, hazelnut and cranberry. I'd probably do any of those besides the cranberry, personally. (I got these suggestions from a site I can't link to since the site thinks it's spam)

5. scurvy311

scurvy311 Savant (1,111) Dec 3, 2005 Louisiana

I get lots of inspiration walking through ethnic food stores.

MrOH and SFACRKnight like this.
  6. jamesnw

Now I'm curious... what are some examples?

7. scurvy311

Lemongrass, hibiscus, curry, cocoa sticks, exotic (to me at least) fruits, different teas...I'm always on the lookout at farmers markets and stores when I travel.

jamesnw likes this.
  8. Lukass

Lukass Pooh-Bah (2,807) Dec 16, 2012 Ohio
    Pooh-Bah Society