Favorite Colorado Lagers!

Discussion in 'Mountain' started by ManBearPat, Jun 30, 2016.

1. ManBearPat

ManBearPat Devotee (485) Dec 2, 2014 Colorado

I have to do it. I'm no expert on the lager styles (or anything for that matter), but I just finished a Zwei Helles and could not be happier with it!

We need to collect the good ones here so we know where to find more.

Tis the season, my friends.

R3ason likes this.
  2. McNazz

McNazz Disciple (386) Feb 19, 2013 Colorado
    Trader

...pending 10,000 word essay from @Domingo...

I'm on the edge of my seat!

3. beeeeeeeeeeeer

beeeeeeeeeeeer Initiate (56) Jul 3, 2010 Colorado

I'm an absolute junkie for classic German styles, and Zwei and Prost do it right. Wibby's helles is great. Jessup Farm Barrel House has a helles on right now called Helles in Wonderland that is textbook. Just all fantastic stuff.

For non-German, Roaring Fork Slaughterhouse and Finkel and Garf American Lagers are great.

A little avant garde, but Caution's Lao Wang is a fun, tasty beer, especially with food.

4. Domingo

Domingo Poo-Bah (2,675) Apr 23, 2005 Colorado
    Society

Ha! I'll keep this to a minimum for now. Gotta keep the thread going for more than a page :stuck_out_tongue:
    Zwei probably holds the German crown for the moment. At least until Bierstadt opens. Gotta love those former Potts guys.
    After a year or two of sucking, it seems like Prost has rebounded in a major way.
    Even though they aren't always common (or even released at all), the Coors incubators kill it. That includes the Sandlot, AC Golden, and Blue Moon. Seriously, they're phenomenal and as good as any on these shores.
    Dry Dock's helles and pils are still good after all these years. They're canning shitloads of Docktoberfest this year, so that's gonna be the bomb.
    Nothing wrong with good 'ol Polestar Pilsner from Left Hand. Lost Highway pils is also good.