Feature Request: Hide Ratings/Scores

Discussion in 'BeerAdvocate Talk' started by ZenAgnostic, Apr 30, 2019.

1. ZenAgnostic

ZenAgnostic Savant (991) Jan 27, 2011 Texas

I've been rating beers on this site for many years now and one of the most annoying things about rating beers is checking the beer's page first for whatever reason (such as to see if the pic already exists, if i need to upload one, or if i'm about to rate the beer) and the beer's rating pops up immediately.

I don't want other people's ratings to influence my own perception so I have to hold my hand up to the screen when loading the page and hope I don't accidentally catch a glimpse.

I wish there was some kind of 'rating mode' where it hides numerical ratings of beers so you can rate without tainting your own judgement.

2. thebeers

thebeers Poo-Bah (2,559) Sep 10, 2014 Pennsylvania
    Society Trader

It’s an interesting idea. In the interim, try rating the beer in your phone’s notes app or on a cocktail napkin first. It’s five numbers, so not that hard to copy over.

3. TheIPAHunter

TheIPAHunter Poo-Bah (1,934) Aug 12, 2007 Pennsylvania
    Society Trader

I agree. This is a simple concept to avoid following sheep. Cheers!

4. gopens44

gopens44 Poo-Bah (2,252) Aug 9, 2010 Virginia
    Society Trader

Initially I thought that this would create an issue when picking up new beer but I realized that I'm usually skipping past the rating for the most part and reading a reliable reviewers review. I therefore agree that it would be a great idea

mudbug likes this.
  5. AZBeerDude72

AZBeerDude72 Poo-Bah (1,661) Jun 10, 2016 Arizona
    Society Trader

I really don’t see the need, just note your review numbers prior to opening?

6. Zorro

Zorro Poo-Bah (4,431) Dec 25, 2003 California

Nope. Flag the Nasty Beers.

JimboBrews54 likes this.
  7. ZenAgnostic

Like I said, there's many different reasons why this might happen.