Firkins?

Discussion in 'Pacific' started by Bungletronics, Jan 31, 2020.

1. Bungletronics

Bungletronics Initiate (114) Jan 5, 2009 California

Is it just me, or my geographical location, or are Firkins a thing of the past? I've been doing the craft beer thing since about 2007 an in 2 different states. I feel like brewery tasting rooms and craft beer bars would always have something special on cask. Whether it be a dry-hopped version of one of their beers, or featuring some adjunct enhancements, there was always something cool once a week or so.

I'm in the suburbs north of Los Angeles and the number of breweries in the area has grown exponentially and continues to grow. It is fantastic. But it seems like everyone is trend-focused. There isn't too much experimentation and some of the traditional or special stuff has gone the way of the dodo. I mean, I guess it is good that there are 7+ IPA's or similar on tap at any given time (not).

So, the question... Do you still see cask beer served these days? Also, where near the Los Angeles area are you finding it should you be there.

2. zid

zid Meyvn (1,201) Feb 15, 2010 New York
    Trader

Yorkshire Square... which also provides the answer to the first question. Cask beer is an endangered species in the US, but it seems like the only attention it gets here is with the rare breweries dedicated to it.

3. JackHorzempa

JackHorzempa Poo-Bah (4,653) Dec 15, 2005 Pennsylvania
    Society

“Do you still see cask beer served these days?”

I live in Southeastern PA and I am fortunate that cask ale is still available to me. Just last weekend I was able to drink two versions of Scottish Ale on cask at the Sly Fox Brewpub:

On gravity pour:

“Burns' Scottish Export Ale

Brown Ale

12.8 OG18 IBUs5.0% ABV

Named for the famous Scottish poet, this brown ale brewed with British pale and roasted malt is medium bodied with a smooth, malty, mellow palate.”

On the hand pump:

“Gang Aft Agley

Scottish Wee Heavy

19.5 OG20 IBUs8.6% ABV