First time using liquid yeast/making a starter

Discussion in 'Homebrewing' started by Hoppist, Mar 30, 2018.

1. Hoppist

Hoppist Initiate (105) Mar 5, 2018 Greece

About to do my second brew, a NEIPA. For this one I got the classic Wyeast London A3 1318 and I am planning to do a starter. The yeast has January 25 date on it, so I guest it should be about 55% viable. This is my first time working with liquid yeast and I want to build a starter. I don't have a stir plate, but I plan to use a blender on the lowest setting. It has a non-stepped speed controller, so I can run it on a very low speed, lower than "1" in most blenders, thus I think that if I succeed sanitizing it, then I should be fine. What pitch rate do you think I should go for, considering I am most likely going to build a 20L (5gal) 1.06 wort for it to ferment? I would like a slight underpitch to create some more intense fruity ester profile. My starter will be (unless someone proposed something better) 1L with 100g extra light DME. Should I leave it in the starter for 2 days, or will 1 suffice?

2. Prep8611

Prep8611 Aspirant (294) Aug 22, 2014 New Jersey

I wouldn't use a blender. Just swirl the flask or mason jar every time you walk by it.

3. GormBrewhouse

GormBrewhouse Disciple (347) Jun 24, 2015 Vermont

Prep has it right, a good swirl several times a day will do, but, if you really want to mechanize buy a stir plate. I use the swirl method.

4. NorCalKid

NorCalKid Initiate (172) Jan 10, 2018 California

YouTube; how to build a computer fan stir plate. Cheap and easy. That way you don’t make a smoothie out of yeast.

GormBrewhouse likes this.
  5. PortLargo

PortLargo Devotee (482) Oct 19, 2012 Florida

You're guessing here. For better results use a yeast calculator . . . this is my favorite:
    http://yeastcalculator.com/ (use the default setting for pitch rate)