Getting a rolling boil on a kitchen stove

Discussion in 'Homebrewing' started by Crackerbarrel, Feb 16, 2015.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Crackerbarrel

Crackerbarrel Initiate (87) Feb 10, 2014 New York

I'm just getting started with homebrewing (about to do my third batch), and both times prior I've had trouble getting a good rolling boil on my gas kitchen stovetop.

I'm not really doing a large batch, a little over 4 gallons in the kettle, but I understand even this is a lot for a stove.

I can reach a good boil, but its usually after a good 30 minutes. Should I consider this point to be the start of my boil (i.e., let it go 60 minutes from this point, add my first bittering hops, etc), or does the fact that its been cooking (albeit not boiling) for about 30 mins already change things?

edit: I've heard people tell me "you don't need a good rolling boil, just some bubbles/movement" but I don't even get close to that in the first half hour....the temp is usually about 180-190 degrees for a while.

2. BeerMe330

BeerMe330 Initiate (72) Dec 13, 2013 Ohio

4 gallons is a lot to do on the stove you may want to drop that to 2-3 gallons. When I was stove top I started with 2.5 gallons and made some decent beer. Also do a quick search for drop in water heaters. That will cut the boil time down a little.

3. billandsuz

billandsuz Disciple (369) Sep 1, 2004 New York

depends.
    consistency is important. adding your bittering hops at the point you reach a full boil is best. you want to boil your wort for 60 minutes. so technically if your wort is 200F, it isn't boiling. it's just hot. but it is not a mistake if you were to toss in your bittering addition at 200 and ramp up to full boil.

you may find that "boiling" for 60 minutes on a kitchen stove is really a 120 minute affair.