Help me critique my recipe

Discussion in 'Homebrewing' started by iflah45, Aug 21, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. iflah45

iflah45 Aspirant (213) Jul 8, 2010 Massachusetts
    Beer Trader

I am going to brew this recipe this weekend and I am looking for some input. It is a partial mash with some wheat extract. I am aiming for a ton of Citra ( hence Zombie) mixed with a wheat ipa base like gumballhead.

Will be my 3rd batch and the first two were both ipas that came out great.

Also, should I stick with US-05 or try something new for this?

http://www.brewersfriend.com/homebrew/recipe/view/44875/zombie-gumball

Cheers!

2. WeaponTheyFear

WeaponTheyFear Aspirant (240) Mar 9, 2008 Connecticut

I'm not a recipe expert but that looks like an insane amount of dry hops.

3. FATC1TY

FATC1TY Moderator (1,228) Feb 12, 2012 Georgia
    Subscriber Beer Trader

Yeah.. I think your hop schedule needs work.

I'd stick with one kind of FWH. You won't be able to pick any layering out of that, unless you are just using up some old hops that need to be used.

I'd back it off, and lay more in.. Start at 15, 10, 5 and then you have a choice..

Hit some of your dry hop you have there, all 10 ounces, and figure on using.. hell.. 5 of it for your dry hop, in two cycles.

So do a flame out addition that will give you some IBU's, but won't calculate, and then do a hopstand at a lower temp, like 170 or so.. Gives you killer aroma and flavor.

So 4 boil additions from 15-0, and then a hot hopstand.. Then use some of your dry hops. You won't be packing much in that way.

4. inchrisin

inchrisin Defender (654) Sep 25, 2008 Indiana

^^^ winner

5. iflah45

Beer Trader

Thanks that sounds like a good plan! So just to confirm, how does the hop stand work? Do I basically wait until the wort cools to 170 then throw the pot on low heat and add the hops for a half hour or something?

6. FATC1TY

Subscriber Beer Trader