How long does it take to develop a palate?

Discussion in 'Beer Talk' started by ChristopherProvost, Aug 5, 2015.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. ChristopherProvost

ChristopherProvost Initiate (111) Dec 24, 2013 New Hampshire

I'm a relative newbie to the tasting world. I look at my reviews and compare them to others and sometimes I feel clueless. I feel like I can only identify the major flavors or aromas. I get citrusy, grassy, malty, hoppy, boozy, etc. but I just don't get how people can taste things like biscuit or marmalade or herbal or whatever. I realize it's all subjective but still. Does detecting these finer nuances just happen over time as you taste more and more?

2. LennyOvies

LennyOvies Initiate (0) Jul 22, 2015 Mexico

Same here, relative newbie and I'm around the same place with you. I can't seem to get all this fine flavors/aromas.

Sometimes I think people just type random stuff to make their reviews be so cool looking hahaha.

HopBroker, sdm9465, WhoKnew23 and 8 others like this.
  3. Raime

Raime Meyvn (1,338) Jun 4, 2012 Greenland

Every bodies palate is different so you simply may not pick up certain tastes because of that.

But some things just take time. Keep at it. I've been doing this for about three years and I still can't get the whole kitchen sink in a lot of the beers I try

Mehinaman likes this.
  4. CraigP83

CraigP83 Defender (622) Dec 19, 2014 Minnesota
    Trader

I've been drinking craft for years, and really got into trying and keeping track of what I've tasted about a year ago and I still struggle picking out subtle flavors. I'm under the impression that some people just don't have a "developed palate" and won't get one.

5. Tripel_Threat

Tripel_Threat Poo-Bah (2,873) Jun 29, 2014 Michigan
    Society Trader

Practice is a absolute must to develop a nuanced palate.

At least, that's what I tell the wife.

6. Sound_Explorer

Sound_Explorer Poo-Bah (1,853) Dec 29, 2013 Washington
    Society