Interesting hop combinations

Discussion in 'Homebrewing' started by Hoppsbabo, Oct 29, 2018.

1. Hoppsbabo

Hoppsbabo Champion (862) Jan 29, 2012 United Kingdom (England)
    Trader

Yo dudes. Based on an old thread, I'd be grateful if you'd share your favourite hop combinations.

Also, I'm new to this homebrewing game. Is there a lore to combining varieties or can you not really go wrong? I have some left over amarillo and home grown Fuggles I'd like to combine in an imperial stout. Would that be weird?
    Ta.

2. VikeMan

VikeMan Meyvn (1,463) Jul 12, 2009 Pennsylvania

I don't know that there are really any wrong/bad combinations, but some are better than others, depending on what you want your beer to smell and taste like.

I have used Amarillo and Fuggles together, in a sort of English/American Pale Ale hybrid. It worked well I think. In an Imperial Stout? I dunno. Maybe. First, ask yourself if you really want your Imperial Stout to be a hop forward beer. If not, I would eliminate Amarillo or any of the more aggressive American/Southern Hemisphere hops.

ETA: Meant to mention... Kate the Great, which some might say was the best RIS ever, used 6 or 7 (roughly) different hops. But essentially the same beer could have been made with one or two, IMO. Given the other characteristics of the beer, and the (typical) time between brewing and drinking, there's not a whole lot of hop character left.

3. JackHorzempa

JackHorzempa Poo-Bah (3,650) Dec 15, 2005 Pennsylvania
    Premium

It is a bit premature to state “favorite” but I recently brewed my version of a Weldworks Juicy Bits IPA where I used equal amounts of Citra, Mosaic and El,Dorado at both end of boil (and hop-stand) and dry hopping. The beer is only a couple of weeks in the bottle (and still young IMO) but I am really digging this combo. I will have a more mature feeling about this beer in another couple of weeks but I feel comfortable at this stage to recommend this combo.

Cheers!

SFACRKnight likes this.