Kulmbacher Date Code

Discussion in 'Beer Talk' started by 57md, Feb 7, 2016.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. 57md

57md Poo-Bah (2,983) Aug 22, 2011 Pennsylvania
    Society

I have a single bottle of Kulmbacher Eisbock and I am trying to decipher the date code.

Fresh Beer Only does not have any info on Kulmbacher. I was wondering if anyone had some wisdom on this matter.

Gemini6 likes this.
  2. AlcahueteJ

AlcahueteJ Poo-Bah (1,553) Dec 4, 2004 Massachusetts
    Society

Good luck, I've never been able to figure it out. It's sad because I like their Pils, but never pick it up due to this problem.

3. drtth

drtth Poo-Bah (4,006) Nov 25, 2007 Pennsylvania

Don't know for sure as I've only had it on tap, but if the code is a 4 digit number its possible that might be a Julian date (first 3 digits) with the last digit being the year (e.g., xxx2 being 2012).

What is the code you are seeing on the bottle?

#3 drtth, Feb 7, 2016
    Last edited: Feb 7, 2016
  4. 57md

Society

24381/2 is the code

5. drtth

drtth Poo-Bah (4,006) Nov 25, 2007 Pennsylvania

No further ideas to offer here, good luck!

6. 57md

Society

Thanks anyway.

I got a single bottle in a beer club case and I am certain that it has been around for awhile. I really like this beer and I want to be accurate about the age when I sample this and update my current review of this offering.

7. 57md

Society

It's a shame when consumers who care about the freshness of their beer need a Rosetta Stone to decipher what could be a simple bottled-on date.

algebeeric_topology likes this.
  8. Chaz

Chaz Poo-Bah (2,126) Feb 3, 2002 Minnesota
    Society Trader

The "old" (mid 2000 / "Oughts") label had a best before date -- strange in its own right, as many who enjoyed that brand (and the Reichelbräu iteration which preceded it) also preferred it after it was aged in a cellar for a few years.
    This is true!

9. drmeto

drmeto Poo-Bah (2,033) Jan 29, 2015 Germany
    Society