Logical next steps for a new homebrewer

Discussion in 'Homebrewing' started by Manbeerpig90, Dec 16, 2021.

1. Manbeerpig90

Manbeerpig90 Initiate (5) Nov 17, 2021

Hey guys!

So, I'm a newbie homebrewer at the point where I've brewed my first couple of 5 gallon extract kits, and I've fallen in love with the hobby/trade. I'm pretty early in the game, but I know I want to improve my brew as quickly as possible. My issue is that there are soooo many options that at this point my "shopping cart" is quickly overflowing with stuff. Obviously, I don't want to blow my life savings, but I don want to start investing in the hobby. So, what would you suggest is the next step? So far my research has me debating these options:

Option 1: Temp Control system and oxygen "wand" to improve the quality of my current extract brews. Not that fun, but probably the correct option. My house is always 70-75 degrees in Texas, and I'm sure when summer start's this will be even more important :slight_frown:

Option 2: Buy a 10G kettle and a Anvil burner to start doing the BIAB system or all grain.

Option 3: Buy a keg system so I can start force carbonating and obviously build a kegerator.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated!

2. JackHorzempa

JackHorzempa Poo-Bah (5,437) Dec 15, 2005 Pennsylvania
    Society

Of those three options I would 'vote' for option 1 since fermentation temperature control is very important.

I will send you a PM for further reading.

Cheers!

MrOH, PapaGoose03 and Applecrew135 like this.
  3. jbakajust1

jbakajust1 Crusader (769) Aug 25, 2009 Oregon