Missing malt flavor in Homebrew

Discussion in 'Homebrewing' started by Redindie, Dec 21, 2016.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Redindie

Redindie Initiate (139) Feb 10, 2016 Germany

Hi all,

I've been brewing for about 2 years now, and have slowly improved my setup (BIAB) over time to brew some enjoyable IPAs. However, after trying to brew some browns and reds, I can't seem to get a malt flavour in the final beer. I've tried multiple recipes and yeasts, but no change.

I've tried adding +20% Munich to recipes with no avail.
    I've tried using Bottled water and tap water.
    I've tried both sparging and no sparging
    I've tried different dry yeasts (no liquid yeasts yet)
    Pitching rehydrated yeast with wort at 21°C
    Fermenting at 18°C on primary for 2-3 Weeks, then bottling
    Priming with corn sugar

The beers taste fine, just not malty. Sometimes sweet, but without the malt aspect. Typical OG is 1.054. Finishing at around 1.012.

I'm really out ideas... Does anyone have any ideas what would cause this?

Thanks for the help!

2. VikeMan

VikeMan Grand Pooh-Bah (3,043) Jul 12, 2009 Pennsylvania
    Pooh-Bah Society

Hmm. If you had to describe what you mean by malt flavor without using the word malt, what would you say?

crcostel likes this.
  3. Redindie

being able to taste the character of the grains. Not the sweetness. I've tasted some great beers, where you can taste the hops, but you can also tastes the grains to an extent and it complements the hops nicely. In an extreme example, a porter has an intense malt taste.

4. JackHorzempa

JackHorzempa Grand Pooh-Bah (3,351) Dec 15, 2005 Pennsylvania
    Pooh-Bah Society

At the risk of leading the witness, below are some descriptors that I use to describe various malty flavors:

· Doughy

· Bready

· Biscuity

· Cracker-like

· Toasty

· Bread Crust

· Chocolaty

· Roasty

And because I don’t have a good independent word: Pilsner malt flavor.