Moving Beer Cellar Across Country

Discussion in 'Beer Talk' started by dercky, Aug 9, 2018.

1. dercky

dercky Initiate (43) Sep 8, 2014 New York

I'm making the move from New York to Los Angeles in September, and I'm considering how I'm going to safely get my beer closet to the west coast. The moving company has agreed to take it (I will pack it, but it will not be covered by insurance). My concern there is that the heat in the back of a moving truck going across the country will have a significant, negative impact on the composition of the brews I've been saving for the past 5-6 years. It's impossible for me to estimate what the temperatures would be, but it will be late September heading across the dessert, most likely.
    The alternative is to ship it all, but I will have about 48 bottles and 48 cans, so the shipment costs will likely be over $300-400. Not a cheap ticket, and although we all do it with trades, technically not legal, so also not insured.
    It's impossible for me to take it all in the car we're driving, as I'll have a wife, dog, and luggage to bring.
    So .... all that said, suggestions on how badly the temperature would affect the beer over the course of 7-10 days in the back of a moving truck, or other suggestions on how to get the beer to Los Angeles safely. Anyone have good experiences with any professional wine/alcohol shippers that refrigerate?
    Thanks in advance, everyone!

2. AZBeerDude72

AZBeerDude72 Meyvn (1,260) Jun 10, 2016 Arizona
    Premium Trader