New Beer Sunday (Week 644)

Discussion in 'Beer Talk' started by lordofthewiens, Jun 25, 2017.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. lordofthewiens

lordofthewiens Poo-Bah (5,235) Sep 17, 2005 New Mexico
    Society

Have you ever been competent, or even good, at something, and then lose that ability? This is a description of my presently abysmal golf game. I've been playing golf for 60 years. In my younger years, while not great, I played to a 4 or 5 handicap. As I got older the handicap rose, but still remained in the single digits. That is, until two years ago. I began to have trouble breaking 90. Shooting less than 80? Forget about it! I've bought new clubs, I've tinkered with my stance and swing, I've taken lessons, all to no avail. I tell you, it's wearing me out. I once had a game I played fairly well, and could rely on, and now it's gone. I'm going to keep working on it, though. I am taking a lesson this week from our new pro, who says he can help me. Hope springs eternal!

One thing I'm still good at is drinking and talking about beer. This is the place to TRY a new beer and to TELL us about it. Beer is appreciated in five categories: appearance, aroma, taste, mouthfeel, and overall impression. So drink a new beer, put your fingers on the keyboard, and tell us your impression here on New Beer Sunday.

My new beer for today is Ghost Hammer IPA from Stone Brewing. It was canned on 05/18/17 and meant to be enjoyed by 09/15/17.
    It pours a hazy gold color with a thick, but rapidly dissipating, white head. There is abundant lace.
    Aroma of pine and citrus.
    Taste followed the nose: pine resin and grapefruit zest.
    A hop-forward beer. Good, not great.

[​IMG]

Happy Sunday!

BJB13, superspak, FFFjunkie and 61 others like this.
  2. utopiajane

utopiajane Initiate (0) Jun 11, 2013 New York

Good morning @lordofthewiens ! Thanks for getting us started this morning.