New Home Brewer: Wort Volume Question

Discussion in 'Homebrewing' started by Manbeerpig90, Nov 17, 2021.

1. Manbeerpig90

Manbeerpig90 Initiate (5) Nov 17, 2021

Hey All,

Sorry, I'm pretty new to home brewing (Currently working on my first batch) and I had a quick inquiry. While conducting my initial brew I was under the impression that you should begin by boiling a total of 5 gallons of water to create your wort. I thought nothing of it at the time, but I've ended up with about 3.5 gallons of wort in my carboy, and now realize that this is far less then I should have. I'm nearing the 3 week mark (2 weeks primary, 1 week secondary) and I've been racking my brain trying to find a solution. Would the best practice be to add sanitized water or water bottles before bottling? Or should I just ride it out and take it as a lesson learned?

Thank you!

dmtaylor, PapaGoose03 and riptorn like this.
  2. VikeMan

VikeMan Poo-Bah (2,004) Jul 12, 2009 Pennsylvania
    Society

Congratulations! You have determined your boil-off rate, which you can use in formulating future recipes.

Assuming everything else in your brewday and fermentation went as planned, you're going to have about 43% more alcohol than you were expecting. For example, if you were expecting an ABV of 5.0%, you could expect about 7.1% ABV. You can also expect more body, higher hop bitterness, etc. But it will be beer.

Adding water after fermentation isn't a good idea, unless you can get rid of the dissolved oxygen and then cool and transfer the deoxygenated water without picking up O2 from the air. Not a process for beginners.

Also, if you haven't already, read "How to Brew." It will answer questions you don't know you have yet, and probably would have helped avoid the volume issue you had.

3. riptorn

riptorn Zealot (518) Apr 26, 2018 North Carolina
    Society Trader

Welcome to BA @Manbeerpig90 :beers: