New to Homebrewing

Discussion in 'Homebrewing' started by PMB01, May 15, 2018.

?

What is the best homebrewing set-up?

Poll closed May 29, 2018.
  1. DIY-kit

10 vote(s)
    100.0%
  2. Automated machine (all-in-one) (complete process in one machine)

0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  1. PMB01

PMB01 Initiate (0) May 15, 2018

Hi Brewers!

I'm quite new to homebrewing and wanted to started a conversation about how you guys started homebrewing! What made you start brewing your own beer?

In addition, I started brewing recently and of course the mess afterwards, and the smell that comes from the process, are part of the experience. However, these aspects do kind of frustrate me from time to time. That being said, I'm really curious if you guys experience frustration when brewing, if yes, what frustrations do you experience when brewing and what do you do to solve these frustrations?

Cheers! :beers:

2. OldBrewer

OldBrewer Aspirant (248) Jan 13, 2016 Ontario (Canada)

I started homebrewing in 1990 a couple of years after I tried the beer a neighbour had made. I had always heard that homebrews were quite bad, but his turned out quite reasonable for the time. I had also been making my own wine for about 15 years at the time, so I thought it would be great to add beer to my hobbies. It would also save money. The beer kits at the time (Muntona) were OK, but my beers never turned out too good until I finally switched to all-grain. I have seen a HUGE increase in the quality of homebrew since I first started.

As for 'frustrations', I actually enjoy them, and view them instead as exciting challenges. When something doesn't go right, I analyze what the problem might have been, I read up on it, ask questions from other experienced homebrewers (that's the this great forum is for) etc. It's exciting to find solutions and new improvements. Thus I view 'frustrations' as an exciting part of this hobby, and as opportunities to learn more about the brewing process.