Discussion in 'Homebrewing' started by Sully100, Jul 3, 2020.

1. Sully100

Sully100 Initiate (16) Jul 3, 2020 England

Hi,
    I am new to brewing, currently I'm the middle of my second brew.
    My last was a lager and it was lovely if I say so myself.
    However, this one is Woodforde's Wherry ale that needed no sugar at first but half a teaspoon per pint. I actually miscalculated and thought I needed to put in a little more than half a teaspoon in each 500ml bottle instead of a little less.
    However, I have heard that too much sugar can make a 'bottle bomb'. Firstly, was exactly is meant by that? Secondly, how much is too much?

riptorn likes this.
  2. VikeMan

VikeMan Poo-Bah (1,948) Jul 12, 2009 Pennsylvania
    Society

PapaGoose03 and MrOH like this.
  3. riptorn

riptorn Disciple (381) Apr 26, 2018 North Carolina
    Society Trader

If you discover that you might have added too much sugar, let the bottles condition/rest in an enclosed, sturdy container (like a plastic bin with a lid). You probably won’t get any warning when any particular bottle will fail.

Edited to add: Congratulations in your first attempt being a success, I think that's probably more rare than common.
    Welcome to BA and to the sport of homebrewing. :beers:

Sully100, PapaGoose03 and MrOH like this.
  4. MrOH

MrOH Meyvn (1,244) Jul 5, 2010 Maryland

If you can refrigerate all the bottles once they've carbonated to the point you enjoy, you should. Also, you should drink them quickly.

If you can't keep them cold, a sturdy, closed container like @riptorn mentioned is necessary.

5. Sully100

Good thick Grolsche style

6. VikeMan

VikeMan Poo-Bah (1,948) Jul 12, 2009 Pennsylvania
    Society

I haven't bottled anything high pressure in them, so can't really advise on those. Did you figure out your CO2 volumes with the calculator?

riptorn likes this.
  7. Applecrew135

Applecrew135 Initiate (58) Jul 18, 2012 Pennsylvania