Oak cubes in a mixed ferm saison

Discussion in 'Homebrewing' started by thebriansmaude, Nov 27, 2019.

1. thebriansmaude

thebriansmaude Initiate (81) Dec 16, 2016 Alberta (Canada)
    Trader

Hey all,

I'm looking to add a bit of simulated 'barrel' character to a mixed fermentation saison. The beer is quite small at ~5% abv, it is pale with a grist of pilsner malt, spelt and flaked wheat. It was fermented with a pitch of WY3711, as well as a repitched slurry of brett / pedio / lacto / commercial and bottle dreggs from another sour project.

I have never worked with Oak before, but I'm leaning towards cubes - I wan't a subtle flavor impact because it is a delicate and small beer. Any suggestions on Oak type / quantities for such a beer ? How long to leave the beer on oak before bottling ? The beer has already been aging for about 4 months.

Any one have experience adding wood to such a light / small beer ?

Thanks!

2. JrGtr

JrGtr Disciple (396) Apr 13, 2006 Massachusetts

I would start with just an ounce or 2 of oak.
    I do like the cubes, it seems to be a bit more controllable thank chunks / chips.
    Also look at toast rates - medium is probably a good place to start.
    I would take a little taste at about 10 days to 2 weeks - for a lighter beer like that you'll need less than a big stout or something.

thebriansmaude likes this.
  3. Maestro0708

Maestro0708 Aspirant (267) Feb 27, 2015 Kentucky

I made a "gin barrel" saison earlier this year. My process was to soak 1oz medium toast oak cubes in gin, discard the cubes and add the oak-infused spirit to taste at bottling. I am very happy with the results. Obviously if you aren't using spirit, your process will be different but with regards to adding subtle barrel character to a small beer like this, I say go for it, I think you will have success.

Cheers

4. MrOH

MrOH Meyvn (1,009) Jul 5, 2010 Maryland

Boiling the cubes in a generous amount of water for 15 minutes will greatly reduce their impact.