Off taste in beer

Discussion in 'Homebrewing' started by Mattzyx1, Jun 11, 2018.

1. Mattzyx1

Mattzyx1 Initiate (29) Jun 11, 2018 Florida

So I’m new to home brewing, made my first batch of IPA and everything turned out great, beer was awesome. Second batch was a chocolate milk stout extract kit that had cocoa nibs in the secondary. I soaked the bibs in vodka overnight as stated in the instructions and completed the batch. The beer was in primary for about 10 days, secondary 2 weeks, and was in bottle for a week when I tasted one. It has an off taste kind of spoiled. Just curious as to what could have went wrong. I feel I do very good with keeping everything sanitary. I did notice the fermentation was really vigorous for the first 2 days, then dropped off to Nothing. Any advice or help would be appreciated. Thanks

2. VikeMan

VikeMan Meyvn (1,439) Jul 12, 2009 Pennsylvania

Can you be more specific about what you mean by "kind of spoiled?" What does it taste like?

3. GreenKrusty101

GreenKrusty101 Crusader (700) Dec 4, 2008 Nevada

You are batting .500...not bad in baseball, but less than stellar in homebrewing :grimacing:. If your equipment was new before the first batch, I would attribute your problem to inadequate cleaning after the first batch. Unless cleaning promptly, an overnight PBW soak followed by thorough rinse, followed by sanitizer will save you a lot of grief.

SFACRKnight likes this.
  4. Push_the_limits

Push_the_limits Initiate (30) Feb 8, 2018 Antarctica

Fermented too hot?

5. Mattzyx1

I cleaned all my equipment thoroughly after use with pbw and sanitize everything before use and throughout the process with Star San solution. Kind of hard to put my finger on the taste, just a rotten/ spoiled taste in the background. I use an old refrigerator with a temperature control that keeps it at around 70. I just wondered if it could have anything to do with the cocoa nibs.

6. VikeMan