Refrigerator/Apartment "Cellar"

Discussion in 'Cellaring / Aging Beer' started by BasedPham, Jun 4, 2018.

1. BasedPham

BasedPham Initiate (115) Mar 7, 2018 Massachusetts
    Beer Trader

Sorry if this topic has been brought up before, but I'm kinda new to aging beers, so I couldn't really seem to find a definitive answer.

What's the best way to "cellar" stouts in an apartment? I've been just storing them in my closet, is that okay? I'm aware that making sure that temp doesn't fluctuate and that 50-55 degrees seems to be the best temperature. I would put them in my main refrigerator, but it's taking up too much space. So, is there any way to regulate temperature in a closet, or am I overthinking this? (I live in MA, if that helps at all)

If getting a beer fridge/wine fridge is the best option, what do you recommend (brands, links to one, features, etc.)?

I appreciate any advice! Thanks!

2. BigIslandfarmer

BigIslandfarmer Disciple (335) Sep 30, 2016 Minnesota

I'm a big fan of the chest freezer with a temp controller method of cellaring. A lot cheaper than a wine fridge & you get more room for beer!

Cheers!

3. Beer_Economicus

Beer_Economicus Disciple (395) Apr 8, 2017 Indiana
    Beer Trader

I'm convinced this is the best method, but for many people (myself included) this is not optimal if you have a mini fridge if some sort around and/or do not have space for a freezer. This is the boat my wife and I are in. We received a wine fridge, and do not have the space or money to purchase something ourselves. So, this works well for us.

Is a fully temperature controlled environment better? It sure is. Is it necessary? Not absolutely.