Squeeze the Hop Bag?

Discussion in 'Homebrewing' started by Powaygreen, Oct 1, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Powaygreen

Powaygreen Initiate (0) Nov 5, 2012 California

I'm new to home brewing, only brewed 4 batches now, and been meaning to ask about this.... Is there any negative effects of squeezing the hop bag to get as much of the hop breakup into the wort as possible? Or do you just remove the bag, and hold it over the wort for a while to let it drain as much as possible? I've noticed that if you just hold it over the wort and let it drip drain, there is a lot of stuff that gets caught in the bag, and will not make it into the wort.

As always, any advice is much appreciated and thanks.

2. OGB_JBP

OGB_JBP Initiate (19) Oct 27, 2008 Michigan

I don't think it would be a problem to squeeze the hop bag. I've heard you shouldn't squeeze the grain bag because it will release tannins. However, if you're worried about stuff getting caught in the bag, you could just throw the hops directly in the boil.

StaveHooks likes this.
  3. MrOH

MrOH Defender (642) Jul 5, 2010 Maryland

Yeah dude, why not? So long as you're wearing sanitized rubber gloves, I see no problem with this.

BeerKangaroo likes this.
  4. udubdawg

udubdawg Initiate (0) Dec 11, 2006 Kansas

kettle hop bag squished with sanitized spoon - yes I do.
    dry hop bag squeezed in any way? - no I do not.

OddNotion likes this.
  5. Naugled

Naugled Crusader (737) Sep 25, 2007 New York
    Subscriber

I squeeze both kettle and dry hop bags. I use a spoon for the kettle and sanitized rubber gloves for the keg.

6. FATC1TY

FATC1TY Moderator (1,229) Feb 12, 2012 Georgia
    Subscriber Beer Trader

I don't bag the kettle, but I do squeeze my dry hop bag in the keg just a little. I use leaf only, so it expands pretty well and has to squeeze to get out of the keg anyways.

Squeeze away in any instance, as long you are sanitary about it.

Tebuken likes this.
  7. Tebuken