Stout fermentation/bottling question

Discussion in 'Homebrewing' started by Bdalik, Nov 9, 2015.

Tags:
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Bdalik

Bdalik Initiate (0) Feb 1, 2015 New Jersey

So I brewed a stout, and it looks great. Smells great too. Very excited on it. Used lactose, mashed higher so I'm hoping for a thick, chewy and rich stout. I used Safale US-05 for a clean, crisp yeast. Primary fermentation went well with a lot of action in the first few days, as to be expected with the high flocculating yeast. There's almost no action now that it's in secondary, which I'm assuming is regular? (I'm still new to this). My main question is how long do I really need to go on secondary? I was told 2 weeks, but waiting is the hardest part. I'd like to get it bottled ASAP. Also, do I still need 2 weeks on bottle conditioning? And what is a general consensus for the carb volume for a stout? As of right now, I'm priming with corn sugar and was going to aim for a 2.1 carb volume, but I am open to suggestions. Thanks!

2. PortLargo

PortLargo Pooh-Bah (1,737) Oct 19, 2012 Florida
    Pooh-Bah Society

The first thing I would do is read this:
    https://www.morebeer.com/articles/conditioning

None of the following is what you want to hear:
    The earliest I ever drink a beer is 6 weeks after brew day. But a complex style usually requires more conditioning/aging. My stout-brewing friends tell me 6 months is a good starting point before drinking. Will defer here to other posters about aging Stouts.

Time to carb depends on a half dozen variables, but you really want to error on too much time versus too little (beer is improving with time). A 2.1 carb level is probably good.

A common theme on this Forum is many brewers are finishing the last beer of a batch about the time they should be drinking the first.

3. boothbeer

boothbeer Initiate (0) Jul 19, 2009 Illinois