Stout not fermenting

Discussion in 'Homebrewing' started by fargofallout, Jul 9, 2020.

1. fargofallout

fargofallout Initiate (57) Nov 30, 2010 Minnesota
    Trader

I am very new to homebrewing, and on my fourth beer ever, I decided I would try to be fancy and do a yeast starter. I took the yeast I had purchased and, per some instructions I found online, pitched that yeast into some amount of water and extract and let it sit for two days at room temperature to increase the cell count before pitching it into the stout. There were plenty of signs of fermentation in the starter batch, so I figured everything was cool.

Now, about 60 hours after putting this beer into fermentation, I see almost zero signs of fermentation. I'm not sure if I should 1) let it sit longer, 2) go purchase some yeast and pitch it try to save it, or 3) pour it and try again. I'm asking this question because I honestly don't know if pitching more yeast to try to get this going is a viable option.

I can't give many details as to yeast type or whatever else would be helpful because I'm not taking particularly good notes yet (although now I see that I should be taking better notes), and the yeast didn't come with the recipe kit. The original gravity was 1.056, and the recipe kit, from Nothern Brewer, is here: https://cdn.shopify.com/s/files/1/2...ialStout-1532544620216.pdf?487624729713520424

Thank you for any help anyone can offer.

2. Granitebeard

Granitebeard Initiate (126) Aug 24, 2016 Maine

So some questions:
    Was it liquid yeast or dry yeast that you made your starter with? Starters aren't really useful for dry yeast, but I will assume that it was liquid.

Based on what you wrote, did you boil the water and extract before putting the yeast in the starter? Again, asking because of how it was written, You did say it appeared to be going in the started, so kind of an odd question.