Stuck Imperial Porter

Discussion in 'Homebrewing' started by Yalc, Oct 18, 2018.

1. Yalc

Yalc Initiate (114) Nov 5, 2011 Florida

I know what your thinking....here we go again.
    I will try to give all the pertinents up front and I know I was careless on a few fronts but the question is now to dump or not to dump?
    I have been brewing trouble free since 2012.

The grain bill:

Maris 53.2%
    Munich Light 13.3%
    UK Brown 7.2%
    UK Choc 6.6%
    Special B 5%
    UK C-90 3.3%
    UK C-60 2.5%

The OG was 1.079, lower than expected.

The mash initially rested at 159F (I know right?, I told you I made some rookie mistakes)

I did not oxygenate.
    I pitched 1 packet of US-05 dry, no rehydration.

I fermented at 65F.
    After 10 days my Gravity was at 1.036 or 53% attenuation.

I panicked and added 1 lb of brown sugar made into a thick syrup. I had read that Maybe raising the alcohol % wouldcompensate. At this time I also added a rehydrated pack of US-05. After 5 days, Very slight activity.

The question is now what would you do?

I figure I could add Brett and let her ride.
    I could add beano.
    I run out of ideas there short of dumping.

Let the flagellation begin, but I am hoping for some constructive ideas.

2. VikeMan

VikeMan Meyvn (1,463) Jul 12, 2009 Pennsylvania

What's the gravity now? And are you using a refractometer?

3. minderbender

minderbender Initiate (185) Jan 18, 2009 New York

Probably not the source of your problem, but your grain bill adds up to 91.1%.

Is there any reason to think the gravity hasn't fallen to a reasonable FG by now? When did you last measure it?

4. Yalc

Sorry, I took the percentages after I added the 8.9% sugar later on, my bad.

minderbender likes this.
  5. minderbender