1. Introducing the Respect Beer® Society. Upgrading your account to a Society membership entitles you to more than a dozen awesome perks, from discounts, to add-free browsing, extended users stats, and much more. Join today.
  2. BEER FEST ALERT: Don't miss FUNK Boston: A Wild & Sour Beer Fest on June 14-15!

What is the Best Temp for ale fermentation?

Discussion in 'Homebrewing' started by Jduche17, Dec 23, 2015.

1. Jduche17

Jduche17 Initiate (0) Dec 4, 2015 Quebec (Canada)

Hi I am pretty new to this and was wondering what in general people like the temperature to be when they ferment . I set up a room in my basement with no windows and no light solely for making beer but i find it a bit cold and before i set up a heating unit i wanted some feed back . i set up a thermometer in the room and in general if i leave the door closed it maintains at 61 - 62 degrees is this to cold ? what should i aim for ?
    thanks for your input

2. JackHorzempa

JackHorzempa Poo-Bah (3,851) Dec 15, 2005 Pennsylvania
    Society

A common temperature mentioned for ale yeast fermentation is 68 degrees F. I must emphasize that this is the temperature of the liquid in the fermenter, not the ambient temperature.

During active fermentation heat is generated so the temperature of the liquid in the fermenter will be higher than ambient.

Your temperature of 61-62 degrees for ambient temperature could be just right to achieve the fermentation temperature of 68 degrees F.

Do you have a fermometer on your fermenter so that you can measure the fermentation temperature?

http://www.northernbrewer.com/fermometer

Cheers!

3. Jduche17

yes i do have one , actually i bought 2 , so i will monitor it , do you know is it worst if its to cold or to warm during fermentation ?

4. JackHorzempa

Society