What's the best sequence when tasting mixed styles?

Discussion in 'Beer Talk' started by Mendota, Feb 1, 2017.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Mendota

Mendota Initiate (0) Nov 18, 2016 Virginia

Yo fellow beer fans! I'm sure this subject has been broached before, but as a newbie I couldn't find a thread after an exhaustive research (2min.). To those here that have probably forgotten more than I will know about beers: If I buy a mix six of new to me beers, say a couple IPA's a stout and a pils and intend on trying more than one style, what's my order to appreciate the quality of each?

bbtkd, StoutElk_92 and Harrison8 like this.
  2. Harrison8

Harrison8 Poo-Bah (4,224) Dec 6, 2015 Missouri
    Society Trader

I try to work simple to complex and light to dark. It can get a lot more involved than that, but those are the two dynamics I usually try and uphold.

Pils - IPA - Light Stout - Double IPA - Heavy Stout

utopiajane, bbtkd and NickSMpls like this.
  3. Urk1127

Urk1127 Poo-Bah (1,889) Jul 2, 2014 New Jersey
    Society Trader

I'll start heavy and go light or I'll do polar opposites. After a huge roastyness stoat, it brings different things out of an ipa afterwards. I don't have huge sessions anymore but I'll drink stouts first, then ipas. It makes the ipas pop more and feel cleaner after all that sweet roast.

4. Oktoberfiesta

Oktoberfiesta Initiate (0) Nov 16, 2013 New Mexico

ABV a lot of the times is a great indicator of a beers residual sweetness. For my palate, the tongue seems to get coated quite quickly. I tend to follow lowest to highest ABV to a tee 80% of the time

ElijahSF and Harrison8 like this.
  5. dennis3951

dennis3951 Initiate (0) Mar 6, 2008 New Jersey

hardest to get to easies to get.

GOBLIN and Harrison8 like this.
  6. readyski

readyski Aspirant (270) Jun 4, 2005 California
    Trader

I find that a sour can be 'inserted' anywhere in the sequence without any problems

TongoRad and ElijahSF like this.
  7. skleice