Kettle Sour Ales?

Discussion in 'BeerAdvocate Talk' started by AirlessGOOSE, Jul 30, 2019.

1. AirlessGOOSE

AirlessGOOSE Initiate (19) Jul 30, 2019 Connecticut

Trying to add a kettle sour brew to a local brewery, but don't see it as a style option. What's similar that I can use instead/how do I suggest a style?

(Sorry if this is a dumb question I'm new to the site)

2. PapaGoose03

PapaGoose03 Poo-Bah (2,457) May 30, 2005 Michigan
    Society

IPAExpert69, dcotom, meefmoff and 3 others like this.
  3. Prince_Casual

Prince_Casual Disciple (323) Nov 3, 2012 District of Columbia
    Trader

What's the name of the beer? Looking up a similar, existing entry is a good idea. In this situation you're probably going to end up in one of these three:

Leipzig Gose
    Berliner Weisse
    American Wild Ale

cavedave likes this.
  4. onezendad

onezendad Initiate (131) Apr 16, 2018 Ontario (Canada)
    Society

I'm far from an expert, but aren't AWA spontaneous? Rather than kettled, which I always assumed was introduced instead of spontaneous.

WadeBridgman and PapaGoose03 like this.
  5. Snowcrash000

Snowcrash000 Poo-Bah (1,652) Oct 4, 2017 Germany
    Moderator Trader

This has been discussed at length and will hopefully get fixed with the next style update, but there currently isn't a Kettle Sour style on BA, which means that there is no other choice but to add them as American Wild Ales for the time being, even though it's very wrong.

A case could also be made for adding them as Gose/Berliner Weiße, which are Kettle Sours as well after all, but they are a very specific, defined, traditional style of kettled sours that a modern, usually fruited Kettle Sour doesn't really fall under either.

6. Prince_Casual

Prince_Casual Disciple (323) Nov 3, 2012 District of Columbia
    Trader